Gering Multiple DUI Attorney
Protecting Clients in Gering, Scottsbluff, and The Surrounding Area
Each year, thousands of people are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Nebraska. While a first-time DUI is serious, a second or third DUI is even more so. If you are facing charges for a subsequent DUI, it is important to seek legal representation right away.
At Island Law Office, PC, LLO, we understand the severe penalties you face and will work hard to help you obtain a favorable outcome. Our Gering multiple DUI lawyers are well-versed in Nebraska DUI laws and will use our extensive resources to build an effective defense strategy for you.
Nebraska DUI Laws
In Nebraska, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. If you are under the age of 21, you can be charged with a DUI if your BAC is .02% or higher.
When you are pulled over for a suspected DUI, the officer will administer a breath test to determine your BAC. If you refuse to take the test, your license will be suspended for one year, and you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
For a first-time DUI conviction, you will face a mandatory minimum of seven days in jail, a $500 fine, license revocation for 180 days, and mandatory participation in a substance abuse prevention course or a DUI Drug Court program. If you have a child under the age of 18 in the car at the time of the arrest, you will also be required to perform 10 days of community service.
Penalties for Multiple DUIs
If you are facing second, third, or subsequent DUI charges, the penalties you face will be even more severe. In addition to the above penalties, you will also face the following:
- Second DUI: A second DUI conviction carries a mandatory minimum of 30 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and license revocation for one year. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for one year after your license is restored.
- Third DUI: A third DUI conviction is a felony offense. Penalties include a mandatory minimum of 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and license revocation for 15 years. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 15 years after your license is restored.
- Fourth DUI: A fourth or subsequent DUI conviction is also a felony offense. Penalties include a mandatory minimum of 180 days in jail, a $10,000 fine, and license revocation for life. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for life after your license is restored.
In addition to these penalties, you will also be required to enroll in an alcohol or drug rehabilitation program.
How to Fight Multiple DUI Charges
Just because you are arrested for a second, third, or subsequent DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Our Gering multiple DUI attorneys will carefully review the details of your case and develop a strong defense strategy for you. We will work to have the charges reduced or dropped, and if your case goes to trial, we will aggressively defend your rights in court.
How We Can Help
At Island Law Office, PC, LLO, we understand the devastating consequences of a DUI conviction. Our Gering multiple DUI lawyers will fight tirelessly for you and will work hard to help you avoid a conviction. We will guide you through the entire legal process and ensure you are fully informed every step of the way.
As a former prosecutor, Attorney Dave Island has a unique understanding of both sides of the courtroom. He is highly skilled in negotiation and will work to obtain a favorable plea deal for you. If your case goes to trial, however, we are not afraid to aggressively litigate on your behalf.